Schiller hosts the 1st Young Researcher’s Award | Schiller International University Skip to main content Skip to footer

On April 6, 2022, Schiller hosted its first Young Researcher’s Awards on its Madrid Campus. The awards were open to 2nd year International Baccalaureate students in Spain, France, Germany and the United States. At Schiller, we believe that the process of applied research provides high school students with the complex reading, analytical, thinking, and writing skills that they will need to accelerate their growth and performance in higher education. 


Students had to submit a summary of their original and unpublished research, covering one of these topics: Humanities and Social Sciences; STEM; Economics and Business; International Relations and History; Ethics and Sustainability. 

16 students were then chosen as finalists and presented their deep dives to a panel of judges, consisting of Dr. Victoria Bamond (Provost), Isabell Campbell (Campus Director, Madrid Campus) and Antonio Naranjo, (Academic Chair, STEM Area).

The winners of the awards were as follows: 

  • Economics and Business - Ainara Iriondo
  • Humanities and Social Sciences - Lucia Aranguena
  • International Relations and History - Pilar Capdevila
  • STEM - María Soto Lozada
  • Ethics and Sustainability - Lucia Dacruz Solis
The winners of the first Young Researcher’s Awards.

Andreea Ghiurcanas, Global Business Development Director at Schiller, believes that Research is the fundamental engine to promote a future of progress and development. Schiller launched the first edition of Young Researcher’s Awards with the aim of promoting interest in research and innovation among International Baccalaureate students, and to recognize their research capacity at an early age.

As part of our commitment to training future rising stars, each one of the 16 finalists also has access to Schiller’s unique Excellence Scholarships for the 2022-2023 academic year. 

Schiller University partner for dual degrees: University of Roehampton London Logo
ACCSC Accreditation Logo
Comunidad de Madrid Accreditation Logo
evalag Accreditation Logo

About the author